BA Recognition Awards

Three predominant members of the brewing community are recognized at CBC

The Brewers Association Recognition Award went to Ken Allen, founder of Anderson Valley Brewing Co. in Boonville, CA and former chair of the Association of Brewers, a precursor organization of the Brewers Association.

Dick Cantwell, Head Brewer at Elysian Brewing Company and Brewers Association Board of Directors member says, “Despite the fact that Ken’s brewery (Anderson Valley Brewing) is 32 windy miles from wherever, his beer, his voice and his efforts have been central to craft brewing’s credibility and progress.”

Winners of the Brewers Association Recognition Award are selected each year by the Brewers Association Board of Directors from nominations submitted by association members.
Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing

The Brewers Association presented the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing to Steve Parkes of the American Brewers Guild. Parkes received this year’s award for demonstrating creativity, excellence in brewing and substantial contributions to the craft brewing community, as well as serving as lead educator for hundreds of today’s craft brewers.

Cantwell says, “Not only is Steve a great brewer with an impressive resumé, his service as an educator through the American Brewers Guild has brought hundreds of brewers into the craft ranks.”

The Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing was first given in 1997 to honor Russell Schehrer, who died in 1996 at 38 years old, for his contributions to the brewing industry. Schehrer was a founding partner and original head brewer at Colorado’s first brewpub Wynkoop Brewing Co. He was also one of the first brewers to produce mead, doppel alt, cream stout and chili beer.

Brewers Association brewery members submit nominations every year for the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing. The winner is chosen from the slate of nominees by a vote of the previous award winners.
F.X. Matt Defense of the Industry Award

The Brewers Association presented the F.X. Matt Defense of the Industry Award to Eric Wallace of Lefthand Brewing Co., in Longmont, CO. Eric led the charge to successfully preserve beer drinker choice and selection in helping defeat damaging legislation in Colorado.

“Eric’s recent efforts with the Colorado grocery bill were instrumental in keeping the historic relationship between the independent retailer and the craft brewer intact,” says Cantwell.

The F.X. Matt Award is given in honor of a champion of small brewers, F.X. Matt (1933-2001), president of the F.X. Matt Brewing Co. in Utica, New York from 1980-1989 and Chairman from 1989-2001.
Past Award Winners

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing Winners
2008 – Vinnie Cilurzo, Russian River Brewing Co.
2007 – Matt Brynildson, Firestone Walker Brewing Co.
2006 – Dan Carey, New Glarus Brewing Company
2005 – Greg Noonan, Vermont Pub and Brewery
2004 – Dick Cantwell, Elysian Brewing Co.
2003 – Phil Markowski, Southampton Publick House
2002 – John Mallett, Kalamazoo Brewing Co.
2001 – John Harris, Full Sail Brewing Co.
2000 – Mark Carpenter, Anchor Brewing Co.
1999 – Fal Allen, Anderson Valley Brewing Co.
1998 – Garrett Oliver, Brooklyn Brewery
1997 – John Maier, Oregon Brewing Co./Rogue Ales

Brewers Association Recognition Award Winners
2008 – Dr. Michael Lewis, U.C. Davis
2007 – Jack MacAuliffe
2006 – Chuck Skypeck, Boscos Brewing Co.
2005 – Carol Stoudt, Stoudts Brewing Company
2004 – Jack Joyce, Rogue Ales
2003 – Mary-Anne Gruber, Briess Malting Co.
2002 – George Fix, Clemson University
2001 – Jim and Bobbie Kennedy, Admiralty Beverage Russell
2000 – Ralph Olson and Ralph Woodall, Hopunion CBS, LLC
1999 – Bill Owens, American Brewer Magazine
1998 – Charles Finkel, Merchant du Vin
1997 – Jim Koch and Rhonda Kallman, Boston Beer Co.
1996 – Karl Strauss, Karl M. Strauss Consulting
1995 – John Hickenlooper and Russell Schehrer, Wynkoop Brewing Co.
1994 – Fred Scheer, Frankenmuth Brewery
1993 – Jeff Mendel, Institute for Brewing Studies
1992 – Paul Shipman, Red Hook Ale Brewery
1991 – Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.
1990 – Bert Grant, Yakima Brewing and Malting
1989 – Roger Briess, Briess Malting Co.
1988 – Fritz Maytag, Anchor Brewing Co.
1987 – Michael Jackson

F.X. Matt Defense of the Small Brewing Industry Award Winners
2008 – John Carlson, Colorado Brewers Guild
2007 – George Hancock, Pyramid Brewing Co.
2006 – Daniel Bradford
2005 – Marc Sorini, McDermott Will & Emery
2004 – Marc Sorini, BAA Counsel
2003 – Jim Parker, Oregon Brewers Guild
2002 – Mike McKinney, Texas Wholesalers Association
2001 – David Edgar, Past Institute for Brewing Studies Director
2000 – Fred Bowman, Portland Brewing Co.